Grand Casino Hotel Resort

Hot
 
3.1 (5)
22351 0 1 0 0

User reviews

5 reviews
Overall rating
 
3.1
Total Experience
 
3.0(5)
RV Parking Area
 
3.2(5)
Campground/RV Resort
 
2.7(3)
Casino
 
3.5(4)
Dining
 
3.0(2)
Already have an account? or Create an account
Back to Listing
10 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2
Ordering
No Longer Free Camping - Unsure how much the fee will be
Two reports posted on forums, one Facebook, the other the CasinoCamper Yahoo Group:
Bob on FB Said: "RV'ers Beware: Just for your information, the Grand Casino, Hotel & Resort at Shawnee OK charges $50/night for camper/motor home hookup. The sites don't even include sewer. In our 3 years of fulltiming, we have never paid that much for a site. Our friends, who also are fulltimers, have parked & hooked up here before at a site for FREE (like many casinos do). The casino stated that it just changed a couple of weeks ago. We wouldn't have stayed here except the wind is fierce. We WILL NOT stay again, that is for certain! Please feel free to copy and paste and put on your blogs, facebook, etc"

When I posted it to the CasinoCamper Yahoo Group Jeri said: "I forwarded the message to a fellow RVer who knows the RV manager at the casino in Shawnee. He said they will be changing the rate. It was a screw-up for sure and only done a couple weeks ago. She wasn't sure what amount. He asked suggestions. She said $15 but who knows what it will be. However, it won't be anywhere close to $50 I'm sure."
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 0
May 2011
Overall rating
 
3.5
Total Experience
 
4.0
RV Parking Area
 
3.0
We parked here May 20, 2011. It was a busy Friday night, but we were able to find an RV site arriving late in the afternoon. Water and electric were easy to hookup and worked well. Gambling and dining options were many. (Free soft drinks and soft serve ice cream always available in the casino).
Check in at the gift shop and get a free parking pass. A dump station is available at the entrance end of the RV parking area. Shuttle came by regularly.
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 3 1
October 22, 2008
- report from D & L Sand, October 22, 2008

We are currently in this casino's RV parking area and are loving it because we have friends here. It is not fancy but it is free. The only negative we have found is that the dump is up on a curbed area so gravity may need a little assist. We have room to open our slide but whether or not we can open our awning depends on what rig is parked next to us. So far, so good.

Our computer's EVDO card gets a good signal here. Your parking permit is good for three days but it can be renewed many times. Every three days we take the shuttle to the casino, have dinner in the steak house, and renew our permit. You don't have to spend any money here, though. After all, it's a casino that's betting on making money on you; it's only fair they lose every once in a while. :)

Casino Camper Comment: Spending money is optional, and casinos realize that not everyone gambles. Most of them are happy if RVers and truckers come in and eat.
PU
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
April 2008
- report from FastEagle, April 2008

At Shawnee, OK we stayed at the Firelake Grand Casino on the Shawnee Indian Reservation. All sites there were paved and big long back-ins with 50 amp electrical service and water. They are not numbered and when you get there just take any available site. Then get a shuttle to the casino's main entrance, go to the gift shop and get a permit. You can stay up to three nights free with the permit.

The sites are large enough to get all your slides out and long enough to stay connected. When you leave you can get 3 cents per gal of fuel discount at the service station. The casino is new, very modern and very nice everything. It's what you would expect of a Grand Casino.
PU
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 1 0
August 2007
- report from Donna, August 2007

If you're looking for a spot in the Oklahoma City area, the Firelake Grand Casino at exit 178 on I-40, near Shawnee, has added RV parking with 30/50 amp and water. It's not glamorous, but it's free! The spaces are marked with parking medians along both sides, but they were wide enough for our triple-slide 5th wheel and the water pressure was great!

An added plus, there's a stream that runs behind the sites and the area along it is currently being landscaped. Due to recent high water in the area, it's currently full of fish! Our grandson caught three in a matter of about 10 minutes, using "free" bait - the crickets that are in abundance this year.

The casino itself is very nice, more like Las Vegas casinos than we've found most Indian casinos to be. The Steakhouse is awesome and the buffet was so-so.
PU
Report this review Comments (0) | Was this review helpful? 2 0
10 results - showing 6 - 10
1 2